Respect.

4 06 2008

Brian Morrissey (Digital editor of Adweek) chokes on PR flack. Morrissey, like most editors (or reporters or journalists) – aren’t what they used to be, but the industry ignores mediocrity these days. For the record, I have not called Morrissey mediocre, rather the industry in which he works is largely responsible for its fate. Take that as you will. There are plenty of editors who are overwhelmed and underimpressed with PR folk. There are plenty of PR folk are overwhelmed and underimpressed with sales people. Why?

When you’re in a position of decision-making, you’ll often find a large contingent of people who will stop at nothing to get THEIR way. I’m sure every politician in this country could share a tale about lobbyists or activists. The process is simple: Show respect > earn credibility > improve your status. So, to everyone out there: consider your level of respect.

Actions

Information

One response

5 06 2008
Brian Morrissey

Thanks for not explicitly pointing the finger of mediocrity at me. I”m with you that journalism, much like everything in life, isn’t what it used to be.

I don’t know much about PR, which people in the business probably think when they read my impressions. I only know my daily experience with it. There seems a structural problem with the industry. There are so many PR people hitting send to lists of hundreds, maybe thousands. All day long, my email in-box is clogged with completely worthless stuff, which then means a follow-up call or two to make sure I got the worthless stuff. Day in, day out, this cycle repeats itself. And I refuse to believe that’s my job. It’s not. My job is not to deal with hundreds of PR people. It’s to find innovative, effective ways companies are reaching consumers through digital channels. Unfortunately, it means I need to deal with PR people acting as a middleman. That’s pretty frustrating. Is it mediocrity? I don’t think so. It’s the role PR is expected to play that’s the problem, at least from my end of it.

Leave a Reply

